Sat 26th June 2010   7 comments

So day three of the new Eilean Donan Blog, and I’m desperately trying to figure out what on earth people might want to hear about!? How do I keep this thing fresh and interesting without boring you all to death? It’s a very different kettle of fish to the Facebook page which seems to have struck a chord with lots of people and is very straightforward to manage. I suspect this thing might require a lot more time and effort for a start!

Do I write about historical stuff, day to day things, projects that we’re pursuing, funny tales, a mix of it all, or something else? I’d be very happy to hear any views you might have, and feel free to give me a steer if I go off on the wrong track! I’ll also use this blog to answer any questions you might have about Eilean Donan. The team and I spend a lot of time answering visitors questions, so we’re quite used to it. Please don’t be shy!

We’re just approaching the busiest time of year with 70-75,000 people coming to us in July and probably 100,000+ in the month of August. This represents well over 50% of our total annual visitors, so it’s a really important time for us. Not all will actually go inside the castle as bus tours tight itinerarys don’t always allow sufficient time to do so.  Many people just want to stop for a photo, have a cup of coffee and a slice of cake, or sit on a quiet rock and enjoy the amazing views.

About half our visitors will actually venture inside the castle walls and enjoy everything it has to offer. At the moment, the public have access to about 60% of the inside, and every year we try to open up a little bit more. When Johnny MacRae first opened up the castle to the public back in the early 80s, visitors could only access 2 rooms, the Billeting Room and the Banqueting Hall, so we’ve come a long way since then. We have plans afoot for the next stage of development, with new areas being opened up, but more of that later.

We’re also in the third year of our Archaelogical project, investigating the medieval stage of the castle. The original castle was made up of 7 towers connected by a huge curtain wall, encompassing the whole island. At high tide, it would have given the appearance that the entire castle emerged straight from the sea. It must have been an impressive and forboding sight. Preliminary investigations have been very encouraging with remains of towers and walls that we never new about being uncovered. Although we’ve had to temporarily cover them back up, it’s hoped that with some conservation work, we will eventually be able to display everything we’ve found and re-instate some of the earthworks for public access. A variety of artefacts have been found too including jewllery, medieval gaming pieces and suchlike.The next planned dig is scheduled for October, and the Trust is committed to the project for the forseeable future.

Anyway, the word count thingy at the bottom of the page is telling me I’ve gone over 500 words, so I’m going to stop now. More soon.

Have a great day wherever you are!

Posted June 26, 2010 by eileandonan in Miscellaneous

7 responses to “Sat 26th June 2010

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am enjoying every little bit you write! Anything & everything would be interesting to me. Altho’ I am of Scottish descent, I have never been…….yet, but I love the castle & your blog! Keep up the good work! Thnaks!

  2. Hello again! Just continue as you have been…it’s a wonderful read, and for those of us far away and with fond memories, it’s another opportunity to tap in to what many of us consider our spiritual home. I love the photographs attached, more reinders of where I’d prefer to be! Keep up the wonderful work…I keep telling myself I willget back one day soon!

    Leanne Robinson
  3. Thank you very much for blogging about Eilean Donan Castle. I write in the 1290’s about Scotland, so anything historical you’d love to share is sincerely appreciated. Also, I’d love to read a description of the day, the weather, any interesting things of the season and so on. When I write, I love those type of details that make a story richer to the reader. I research alot, but enjoy reading about someone’s experiences where I’ve never visited to date. But I will. 🙂 My sincere thanks for your time.

  4. *I forgot to mark the notify box.

  5. I would love to see photos of the archaeological digs. Are they available?

Leave a Reply

