Friday 2nd July 2010   3 comments

Good morning folks. Sorry it’s been a bit quiet on here, but I’ve been away for a few days attending a family funeral near Durham. I have to say that as much as I think Skye & Lochalsh is stunning, it struck me as I drove across the North of England from Carlisle to Durham that there are lots of little corners of the UK that I never appreciated how truly beautiful they are. Very different types of landscapes to home for sure, but beautiful nonetheless.

Here at the castle, we’ve just had our busiest ever June in terms of visitor numbers, with just over 40,000 people coming to the site. We’re all bracing ourselves for July & August which is always an incredibly busy time. The weather is warm but with just enough breeze to keep the dreaded midgies at bay! We all thought that with having had such a cold winter last year that the midgie population might have suffered a bit, but no such luck! They’re here….!

So what to write about today? Well, a couple of years ago, I had a fantastic little discovery which I thought might be worth sharing with you. In the back of an old drawer in a bureau in the castle, we came across a folder of old photos taken during the reconstruction of the castle back in the 1920s! There’s about 50 in total and they give a great view of the pain-staking work that went into the restoration. When you consider that it took over 20 years to complete, with very different construction techniques to today it was certainly no small under-taking. I’ve had them scanned electronically so we can share them with you and preserve them for the future, but the quality isn’t spot on as there has been a little degradation, but it certainly gives you an idea of how Eilean Donan was put back together. Hope you enjoy them, and I’ll add a few more if you like them.

The other thing I’d like to add to the blog is this video on Eilean Donan made for Single Malt TV a few years ago. It was one of the earliest items I put on the Facebook page, so some of you may have seen it, but for those that haven’t it’s a really good piece.

Anyway, hope you all have a great weekend, and the sun shines on you wherever you are.

Posted July 2, 2010 by eileandonan in Historical

Tagged with

3 responses to “Friday 2nd July 2010

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, I am dying to find more information about the restoration works at the castle. I’m writing a dissertation and I’m using the castle for one of my case studies and I can’t find any information about the work that was done there. I am an Architectural Conservation Masters student and the more detailed you can get the better!!!

    I hope you can help me!!

    • Ioanna, unfortunately there is remarkably little information on the restoration works between 1912 and 1932. So far I’ve come across some beautiful watercolour plans which are now on display in the Billeting Room of the castle, and about 50 photos. That said I have an attic full of material that has to be gone through this winter, and there may be other hidden gems yet to be uncovered.
      What type of info are you looking for specifically?

      • That sounds very interesting!! I wish I could be there when you look through the attic!!!

        I’ve seen some exterior pictures from the restoration and I think the entrance gate was made with concrete and then covered with stones. Is there any proof of this?? Also someone mentioned that at the back side of the castle (the one that is not easily visible from the visitors and looks over the water) concrete was also used and you can still see it. Again, is this true??

        If concrete was used, which is almost certain considering when it was restored, do you have any problems with stone decay??

        It would be great if I could see the old photos… I don’t know if there is a way of sending them to me…

        I know some of the questions are very specific so its ok if you don’t know the answers…

        Thanks for taking the time doing this…

Leave a Reply

