Hello 2011…..   9 comments

Happy New Year to you all, and I hope you all had a truly wonderful festive season.

Well I’m back in the Eilean Donan saddle after a bit of a lay-off due to my heart attack on the 20th of November, and am just starting to feel a bit more like my old self and looking forward to the year ahead. Thank you for all the messages of support and concern that both myself and my family have received during the last 6 weeks, I’ve really been extremely touched.

There is however, only so much day-time telly a man can physically take, and I have to confess to being a rather impatient patient, so I have returned to work today to try and catch up with all things castle, and give my long-suffering wife some much-needed space!

Had a bit of a bad start to the day as the Visitor Centre boiler has run out of heating oil and the whole place is a bit baltic to be honest, but a few phone calls has sorted the problem, and I’m now waiting for the place to heat up.

Officially, we re-open for the new season on the 1st of March, which experience tells me, will be upon us before we know it, so there’s lots of things to do before then. That said, we had a really good response to our limited winter opening trial during November and December, so we’re going to maintain the three days a week (Tuesday, Thursday & Sunday) opening through February for those early-season visitors.

The 2011 season looks potentially very promising with advance group bookings and wedding reservations both way ahead of previous years. The last few years have been the most successful in our long history, but we never take things for granted and are always looking for new ways to try to improve the visitor experience. Of late, much of this effort has focussed on the development of the Visitor Centre facilities, and the final part of that particular jigsaw will be the installation of a brand new Servery in the Coffee Shop, due to take place in early February, just in time for the new season. The development focus will then move for the next 4 or 5 years back to the castle itself.

We have a roof to replace, probably in October/November; some much needed conservation and restoration work to do; the archaeology project to develop; and hopefully, the opening up of some new previously closed areas of the castle to progress so plenty of variety to keep me busy.

The next few weeks will therefore be geared towards getting everything ready for another great season, and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Eilean Donan through 2011.

Oh it’s nice to be back!!! Catch up soon!


Posted January 5, 2011 by eileandonan in News

9 responses to “Hello 2011…..

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Welcome back David. I see you completed a nice painting whilst recouperating

  2. Welcome back, you have been missed!

  3. A very happy new year to you and glad to hear that you are well on the mend.. Heres to a very good 2011 ahead.

  4. Welcome back! We’ve missed the news on ‘our’ castle and I’m happy to hear you’re ready to tackle all the tasks that lie ahead!

    Can you tell us about this FANTASTIC painting of the castle? It’s AWESOME!

  5. Bliadhna Mhath Ur!….
    Cuimhnich air na daoine o’n d’thaining thu!
    Slainte!

    William Robert MacKenzie.
  6. Glad to hear of your recovery – take care. The picture is awesome – who painted it ? Can we get a copy ?

  7. What an incredible painting!!! I love it!! So glad, too, that are feeling better.

  8. Hello! I’m visiting Kyle of Lochalsh on Valentines day with my boyfriend this month. I was looking forward to visiting the castle but I note that you have limited opening over winter. I see that you’ll be open on the following day, the Tuesday. I wondered if you could notify me of the opening times on the Tuesday as I hope to squeeze in a visit before we make the long drive back down to South of England!

Leave a Reply

