Life’s a beach………………   6 comments

One of the things I love most about living on the west coast of the Scottish Highlands is exploring all its hidden and sometimes secret nooks and crannies. It often amazes me how many Scots actually know more about Meditteranean countries than they know about the riches of their own homeland.

I’ve just returned from a few wonderful days in Sutherland, one of the most remote parts of the Highlands and Islands, and often referred to as Britains last great wilderness. I’ve not been up there for a number of years, and have to confess that I’d forgotten the sheer scale of its grandeur. Many visitors to our shores don’t manage to get up there, and do miss out on a really stunning region simply because it’s slightly off the main well-trodden tourist routes.

As well as the mountains, lochs and scenery, part of its magic is the incredible number of majestic beaches the area offers, often to be found completely deserted.

I have four kids, and we always try to make the most of the area when the sun does actually make an appearance. Over the years we’ve enjoyed wonderful family days on many of the highland’s finest beaches either on foot, or sometimes by our wee boat; so seeing as it’s officially summer, and some of you might be heading up this way, I thought I’d play Tourist Information Office and share a few of our own personal favourites. I’ve included our own Top 10, but in no particular order as they all have their own individual charms. The hardest thing was actually narrowing it down to only 10, as there are so many to choose from, and it was with some regret that I had to exclude a few.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy them, and if you’re up here in the future they’re all worth a visit!

White Sands of Morar

Big Sand Beach, Torridon

Balnakeil Beach, Durness

Coral Beach, Skye

Gruinard Bay, Wester Ross

Luskentyre Beach, Harris

Rispond Bay, Sutherland

Sandwood Bay, Sutherland

Sanna Bay, Ardnamurchan

Tolsta Bay, Lewis

Posted July 8, 2011 by eileandonan in Miscellaneous

6 responses to “Life’s a beach………………

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank You so much for sharing the pretty photo’s. Would love to come there someday.

  2. Wow… I have just come across your wonderful blog…. I am Scottish, from Ayrshire, living in Australia since 2000. I have never been to Eilean Donan Castle, however, my Mum (sadly passed in 1985) had a beautiful painting of the Castle, and I have romanticised about it for years.

    Dad is still with us, in Scotland, and the painting still hangs on the wall. I have perused the blog right back to your first post, you seem to have hit the nail on the head – congrats on your blog anniversary – a great mix of history, stunning photo’s, wit and charm.

    My next visit home to Scotland, I usually try to get home twice a year, will definitely include a visit to Eilean Donan – I had no idea what it was all about, just the painting!

    You mention about the restorations by John and Isabella MacRae-Gilstrap, which makes fascinating reading. And then I came across the photo of the castle from 1908 – my goodness, they practically rebuilt the place!!!!

    I look forward to visiting soon…..

    Hugs from Australia xx

  3. Brilliant! Thanks so for sharing…will be sure to put at least one of these on the itinerary!

  4. Thank you very much for this post! I am a Spanish girl who lived in Edinburgh for one year and fell in love with your wonderful people and country. My boyfriend and I are coming back this summer and we are definitely visiting these fascinating places. This is something you cannot find in tourist guides, thank you for sharing! 🙂

  5. I think that your blog is fabulous, but when will you be posting more posts?

    • Hi Elly I originally committed to operate the blog for 1 year, and when that finished, other priorities kind of took over, but there seems to be a demand to re-start it, which I’m currently contemplating……..

Leave a Reply

